Pumpkin Playdough

When I got to work today (I work at a day care, FYI) one of the kids said, “Miss Christina, Look! We have a pumpkin!” Grabbing my hand and dragging me over to the pumpkin, the little girl told me that they made it. The other teacher in the room told me that they carved out the inside of the pumpkin earlier today to talk about how it feels. She then told me that she was going to take the inside mush from the pumpkin and make pumpkin playdough with the kids tomorrow. She was going to blend the pumpkin insides to a liquid and then mix it with flour and another item that I can not remember. Obviously, I had to look it up when I got home. The closest recipe I found was this pumpking spice playdough from mama.papa.bubba (check out the blog for plenty of cute pics to accompany the recipe!):

1 cup of canned pumpkin pie filling {or pumpkin purée}
1/2 cup of water
2 tablespoons of coconut oil {or other favourite oil}
1 teaspoon of pure vanilla
1 teaspoon of cinnamon
1 teaspoon of cloves
1 teaspoon of nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon of ginger
orange gel food colouring
2 1/4 cups of plain flour
1/2 cup of salt
2 tablespoons of cream of tartar

That seems slightly more complicated than I would want, especially in a classroom setting. I found a simpler version on no time for flash cards:

2 1/2 cups flour
1/2 cup salt
3 Tbs. oil
1 Tbs. alum
2 cups boiling water
food coloring

Let me know if you have another recipe that you like to use!Image

Leave a Reply

