I’m a tutor?

A week ago I started my summer class (called School Reading Problems) in which my main requirement is to tutor a student in reading! I’m super excited about this class – except for the fact that it’s an entire semester of work packed into five short weeks eeeeek! My student is awesome and super enthusiastic about reading, so tutoring has been somewhat easy in that sense. For confidentiality reasons I obviously can’t disclose anything about our sessions, but I wanted to share a few things with you! Check out the pictures below of some of the things we’ve been working on – and this super cute writing process chart I found on google (If it’s yours or you know who made it, let me know!)20140711-095002-35402190.jpg20140711-095003-35403359.jpg20140711-095003-35403851.jpg

This week I had my first moment that I realized that I’m actually qualified to tutor. My student’s reading rate increased dramatically over a four day time period and I seriously could have just died inside. I was so excited! I couldn’t believe that I was able to use a strategy and actually see results. This is truly my first experience legitimately teaching a student. Up until this point, I’ve simply taught a lesson here and there, but nothing to the point where I felt like I’ve really taught something or truly made a difference in a child’s learning ability. I’ll post soon about the different strategies I’ve been learning and how I feel like they’ve been working in my experience.

If there are any reading teachers out there that want to share some fun reading ideas, or any books/poems/texts on a late second grade reading level, please do!

Leave a Reply

